U18 TAC Cup Squad

Lachlan Murphy is the winner of the 2016 Brent Harvey Best and Fairest, after the vote count at the official function on Saturday night.

The midfielder took home the award by six votes over Luke Bunker who finished second while Captain Mason Blakey rounded out the top three.

After round 12 Murphy was not in the top 10 but used an outstanding final six rounds of the season to take home the award.

“It’s a great honour and one I definitely did not expect.” Murphy said.

“To win an award named after Brent Harvey is very special.”

“Thanks to my family who have helped shaped me to be the man I am today and the support from my siblings and girlfriend are really appreciated.”

“I have loved every minute here and all the fun I have had over my journey at the Knights.”

“The coaches have been amazing and a special thanks to Rhy and Shaky [Andrew Shakespeare] who did heaps of work with me not just on but off the field as well.”

Murphy only got to play the ten games for the Knights this season as a result of school commitments but the big impact and consistency he had in those games helped him take home the award.

He averaged 27.5 disposals for the season as well as averaging 4.7 clearances and 5.5 tackles per game.

His best game came against Bendigo after missing six games due to school commitments. In a best on ground display Murphy had 37 disposals, six tackles, seven clearances and a goal.

Midfielders Matt Perry and Matthew Signorello rounded out the top five.

Other major award winners on the night included Patrick Lipinski’s win of the Adam Simpson Coaches Award and Nick Coffield’s win of the Michael Mascoulis Rising Star Award, for the best Bottom Aged Player.

Please see below for a full vote count and top ten leeaderboard.


TAC Cup Squad

Adam Simpson Coaches Award:
Patrick Lipinski

Michael Mascoulis Rising Star Award:
Nicholas Coffield

Leading Goalkicker Award:
Corey McKay

Chris Johnson Best Defensive Player Award:
Ethan Penrith

Most Improved Award:
Chas Roberts

Technika Core Values Award:
Jamison Shea

U16 Max Richardson Squad

U16 Best Player Award:
Braedyn Gillard

U16 Coaches Award:
Brody Bell


Full Vote Count

Pos. First Votes
1 Lachlan Murphy 84
2 Luke Bunker 78
3 Mason Blakey 75
4 Matt Perry 71
5 Matthew Signorello 69
6 Patrick Lipinski 65
7 Corey McKay 51
8 Lachlan Wilson 48
9 Bobby Lamanna 47
10 Nicholas Coffield 44